Whip confusion

Just got back into dirt bikes after a 30 year hiatus (damnit), and just this year learned how to jump the MX jumps (biggest at the track I go to is 55', which I overjump often). And now I'm just learning how to whip.

I have a couple of questions for you studs:

1) I'm getting very good lean on the face, but my results are very inconsistent. Sometimes it goes out really nice but doesn't come back, sometimes it doesn't go out, but does come back, both of those mean I land sideways (haven't crashed yet), and other times it works very well. What's the advice here, just a lot more practice?

I've only been attempting whips the last two times I went to the track. And I'm doing them on the 55' and immediately after that the 50', both tabletops.

Here's a pic where I went out nicely but it wouldn't come back. Am I supposed to be pulling it back with my outer leg? Should I have hit the handlebar stop thing hard to twist the bike back? Is my body in the wrong position here?

http://mitchellsportsphotography.com/MX/uh-oh8-29-12.jpg

And here's learning to whip,

And learning to whip

I feel there is mega progress, but obviously I still have a very long road ahead. I know nothing beats seat time, but does anyone have any suggestions?

(please be nice, I'm 46 and acting 15 LOL) But having the time of my life. Before June of this year I never jumped anything even 20', so I think I've made a ton of progress this year eh?

Any advice will be appreciated. I don't have a whole lot of years left at this, and really want to get good at whipping. (Tip to the youngsters... don't ever take a 30 year hiatus, you'll regret it) Thank God my 15 year old son desperately begged for a dirt bike, and then after I got him one I had to get one, otherwise I likely still wouldn't have a dirt bike. Too fun, just can't get enough.

Thanks for your time.

Well, welcome back!