HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mediumdaddy

what a nightmare!

11 posts in this topic

Hey all, i've been creeping this site for a few months, and finally signed up so i could ask this question. First a little background - i havent been on 2 wheels for about 12 years, until a month ago when i took a ride on a newer 450, and was instantly hooked. So knowing my budget, i started watching the classifieds, and i came across what i felt like was a fair deal. It was a 1999 yz400f, with a new top end and new plastics, clark desert tank (which i hate btw) and a Boyesen quickshot accelerator pump(if somebody can please tell me what the heck this is, i'd be very grateful) It also has protaper bars, and a couple other small extras not worth mentioning. SO! I went and looked at it, test rode it, she fired right up, was fast, i talked the owner down 150 bones, and loaded her up. The owner told me that she needed rejetting, as she was running a little lean. It did idle a little funny, and bogged just a little every once in a while, only on the bottom end. A little carb adjustment, i thought. Filled the tank and went for about a six hour ride on it. Discovered that she bogged more than a little, and that there was something definately off about the decomp lever. But she'd start first kick almost every time. I have a good friend that works on bikes and is very good at it, so i took it over to him that same day after the ride. He tore into the beast, and here is what he found (so far! UGGHH!) whilst trying to time her, he tore into the top end, and the exhast cam had been twisted, and rewelded back together, and was