02 650R getting dual registration questions

I have an 02 xr650r that I jsut picked up and ordered the baja designs dual sport kit for it. The questions I have are:

What are the best tires for the dirt that are still DOT approved?

Do I have to take the bike to the DMV for a once over or do I go to a local police station?

Can I have a pipe and the uncorking kit on it and still be legal for street?

Do I need mirrors?

Speedomoter?

This will be registered in California. I have never done this before and dont know where to start and I do not want to wait in line for 2 hours at the DMV to be told to come back with somethign different...

Kris

Hi Kritter, I just picked up a 650R with a baja designs kit already on it. After January 1st you wont be able to dual sport your bike in California. I know the kit comes with everything, and I'm pretty sure that you only need to take it to the DMV. My kit had a speedo and mirror, but i took the mirror off. I was told by the local bike shop that the mirror was optional. The worst part of the dual sport thing is keeping yourself from doing weelies down the street and getting caught. Good Luck!!

Kritter,