Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
caffd01

WR400 Exhaust on YZ400

11 posts in this topic

I recently bought '99 YZ400 with an FMF exhaust on it. Problem is it is way too loud for the woods. Has anyone fitted a WR exhaust(not header) on a YZ? I spoke to a cycle shop and the sales guy had his doubts about the bike running correctly. He mentioned the WR's different timing and cam, along with the fact that the WR exhaust is more restrictive and may hurt the YZ engine. Since I'm a thumper newbie, I need all the help I can get. Would it have any negative inpacts on the YZ engine? Would I need to re-jet? If so, what size? Let me know what you all think. Thanks guys.

It may not clear the YZ side panel adequately, and the mounting hardware is a little different.

The YZ and WR have the same camshafts, but different exhaust cam timing.

A restrictive exhaust won’t “hurt” the motor, but it will require leaner jetting. A WR can “uncorked” is probably louder than my FMF Q silencer, and not much quieter than a stock YZ can. A “corked” WR can is extremely restricted, you can barely fit your pinky in there. If you have access to an inexpensive used WR silencer it may be worth a try, but I don’t think it will fit behind a YZ side panel. A little jetting adjustment would be the only other requirement.

Have you tried the stock YZ silencer? Much quieter than an ordinary FMF silencer.

I picked up a used silencer on eBay and it mounted right on my YZ. No problems with clearance with the side cover. The problem I'm having is now I can't get the bike started. Would the more restrictive WR exhaust make starting more difficult?