Cheap tricks for the YZ shock

I really like my '06 YZ450 but it took a lot of time and work to make it a really fun bike for the kind of off-road mixed desert/woods riding that I do.

One of the problems I've been wrestling with for a couple of years is the rear shock. I've revalved it a couple of times and it works pretty damn good if I am riding the bike aggresively and have my weight on the bike correctly, but it's not very forgiving if I have a surprise hit or if I'm too far forward on the bike in breaking bumps/not on the throttle hard. In other words, I have to ride it like I'm racing all of the time.... not for leisurely riding. I've known what the problem is for quite some time (too much high speed compression damping) but no ammount of swapping shims on the compression stack would help (even did some porting on the piston). I could get improvemnts in the HSC, but changing the stack too much would always lead to a compromise somewhere else....until I figured this out!

In '06, the YZ's went to an 18mm shock shaft. For eons before '06 they were 16mm and the WR remain 16mm, even today. I recently had an '02 WR shock (16mm shaft) apart and noticed the HS compression adjuster had 8-2mm hiles in the end plate. I also had a shock for an '05 YZ (16mm shaft) apart and looked at it, it had 6-2mm holes. I also had another stock '06 YZ shock (18mm shaft). When I pulled the compression adjuster out and apart of the '06 shock, I compared it to the '05 and they were identical in every dimension. The only difference was the color of the anodizing on the HS adjuster nut.

Hmmmm.......