HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ricky1

Fixing gas tanks

6 posts in this topic

I am not an expert at anything. I am not a mechanic, nor an engineer. I am only passing on info and experience.

I wanted to seal my petcock to the tank. I called IMS for their advice. Brian at IMS said to use JB weld. I used it last night, and it worked beautifly, curing very hard overnight (12hrs). This was used to seal the aluminum flange to the plastic tank. It seemed to bond very well to the plastic.

I then used Permatex Aircraft Grade Form a Gasket to seal the threaded parts of the petcock. This stuff is "pressure resistant and LEAKPROOF to high octang gasoline, grease, and lubricating oils, up tp 400deg F."

Since IMS suggested the JB weld as a sealant, do you think it could be used to repair cracked tanks?

------------------

Rick Fuller

'01 yz426

'00 yz426 destroyed by fire in desert race 4/22/01

'81 490 Maico

Since IMS suggested the JB weld as a sealant, do you think it could be used to repair cracked tanks?

No, where the tanks crack in the back is where they flex a lot. JB Weld won't flex at all, it'll just crack off.

------------------

'92 GSXR 7/11 (For sale, click on link)

'99 YZ400F

'02 Honda CR450F - Coming soon!

MOTOGREG

So I assume you are saying that JB weld is to rigid and will crack?

------------------

Rick Fuller

'01 yz426

'00 yz426 destroyed by fire in desert race 4/22/01

'81 490 Maico