Silver Oil....

I have been riding my '01 426 for about 5 months now and I'm still getting the occasional bursts of metal fleck in my oil.

The oil doesn't smell burnt but is brownie -black with metal flake I change my oil after every two rides (about 6-8 hours in total) I also change the filter every time as well.

BTW..I use Motul 300v oil (The same oil the Aussie Yamaha factory uses)$98.00 AUD for 4 litres

With all this talk of gearbox problems I talked to my YAMAHA dealer and he said that he had just changed a set of third gears in a bike that had done 6 months HARD work.

Does anybody else have this and do you think it is normal?

Worried Blue Aussie!!

I've changed mine 2 times so far and both times it looked really horrible. Brown and gray with tiny silver flakes. But the bike runs good and from what I hear this is normal so until something breaks I'll keep riding it.

Also I think you're getting raped on oil prices. I don't know how much petrolium products are in Austraila but that sounds like an aweful lot for only 4 liters. May be time to switch to a different oil!

Thanx for the reply Sir Thumpalot.

Yes we do get charged a fortune down here for everything not just oil!

I was thinking of going back to the Genuine Yamaha oil as this is the cheaper option and seemed to work well when I last used it.

:D

------------------

Because golf courses can be MX tracks! ?

The gray and dark looking stuff looks to me like material from the fiber clutch plates, but I have no idea where the metallic flakes are from. I'm "hoping" they're from the clutch as well. From reading messages here I take it that this is the norm so I'm not going to worry about it as long as things are working well.

I just did my second oil change and got a lot of silver flakes in the filter and filter chamber. I know some initial wear is normal for most engines but my buddy did the same with his Suzuki and got practically none of the silver stuff.