Scored a yz400f

Hi all! Im new to the 4 stroke world and just bought a 98 yz400f for 400 bucks in excellent shape except for a head gasket. So the bike is at the shop getting a topend rebuild. How are these bikes far as a woods/fast riding terrain? The last bike i rode was a yz250 2 stroke...hoping this 400 will get my 250lb butt around. Also really just listning for all opinions out there such as pros/cons/and general things to consider. Thanks

my only complains about this bike is the weight. it is really. f'n. heavy. otherwise yamaha got it completely right! do general maintenance, jet it right and keep on top of your valve adjustments and it will give you zero issues. fast? they're good at that. tight woods? can be a handful. we've got some real tight trails around here that my xr100 is faster through.

Great find. Those are great bikes. There are several post as far as getting a good setup for woods riding. One thing is change the rear sprocket to around 50 or 51 tooth or get a flywheel weight. That will help the stall speeds when going slow through the woods. Also, change your coolant to some engine ice. I got the engine ice and a 51 tooth rear sprocket and and it helped me alot. I ride woods too. Keep up maintenance and dont skimp on anything. Maintenance is key to a long lasting reliable ride. Alot of people here are very helpful and almost every question on these bikes have been answered on TT. Welcome to the forum and post some pics of it please. I would like to see it. For now, go here https://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=447989 . Most of your questions will more than likely be addressed there.

The 400 is a good reliable bike, a little on the heavy side but otherwise fine.

I ride with 450's a lot and have no probem keeping up.

As far as the "weight" is concerned, once underway it is not noticeable. The key is try not to fall off to often, focus on staying on.