HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mnbluepitsyz450f

Valved clearance adjustment help

17 posts in this topic

Hello everyone i done search and searched before i poped this question out here in the forums.. here it goes I just traded my 77 chevy for this yz 450f bike the guy gave me all the recites showing that he just rebuild it over winter (plus hes a ex racer and owns his own shop) he told me to check the clearance in 10 hrs of running that it had ruffly 30 to 40hrs of break in he said ... Well im not a mechanic i can follow what i read pretty well the manual told me

VALVE CLEARANCE (cold):

0.10 ~ 0.15 mm

Example: Installed is 175

Measured clearance is 0.22 mm

Replace 175 pad with 185 pad

Pad number: (example)

Pad No. 175 = 1.75 mm

Pad No. 185 = 1.85 mm

ok i tried to shim in the spot it told me aqnd i couldnt even get a 0.10 in on either side.. how do i go about finding the right one i need? to put in do i start at 175 and go up till it meets a gap of 0.10 and 0.15 or am i missing something plz help this noobie out before i trash a nice bike :thumbsup:

you go down in pad numbers. Example if you have .09mm clearance and a 175 pad you want to go to a smaller pad size, they go in .05 increments so go to a 170 pad number but don't trust the number use a micrometer. I would suggest buying a Hot Cams shim kit from your local dealer.

Make sure your on tdc and make sure the cams line up before you put it all back together and also check the clearances before you put the valve cover and ect back together.