Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
StrayCat

Should I buy the YZF426 over the others?

29 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, sorry if this is a worn out question, but before I go out and spend $6000 on a new dirt bike, I was hoping a few of you could share your opinions on the current top MX fourstrokes (YZF426, DRZ400(E), XR400, XR650, etc) - or more specifically the YZF426? I am an Expert level roadracer, and I am looking for a bike I can use for physical training and for mostly fun. The YZF426 has my closest eye because of all the fanfair and outright MX look to the bike, but I don't know if it will be the right bike for me. I expect to ride mostly in the Arizona desert (flat out!), perhaps some fast trails, and maybe even an occasional jump or berm or two (am I making this too easy?). I don't expect to use the thing on the street nor frequently on many goat(slow) trails. And big jumps are not much of an interest. However, there may be times where I want to go camping and a good midrange, a light, an electric start, and a kickstand sound nice - at times (and I have hear some grumblings about this - Heck, I don't know if the thing has a lighting coil). Sound like too much to ask of the 426? Thanks in advance. (sorry so long, but it is hard to suggest without the info)

------------------

I think the utilmate play bike is the XR400. Easy to start, lighter than the XR650. Easy to maintain, air cooled. Plenty of hop-up stuff to make it do what you want.

No need to get a new one. Plenty of used XR400's around.

Now, if you are going to jump your bike at all, get the YZ426/YZ400. They are the only ones with suspension up to the task. Plus, you get a full fledged motocrosser.

My 01 YZ426 makes a great trail bike. I would not have any problems going on long rides with it.

In fact, my daughter and I go on rides all the time. She rides an XR80 and I have no problems riding at her speed. This was almost impossible with my KX250.