Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
makncan

6K feet Altitude jetting anyone done it?

6 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

First off I have an '03 WR450F uncorked exhaust that I bought a few months ago.

I've seen the formula thats posted to figure out jetting but I have to admit that I was totally intimidated to actually try and figure it out so I figure I'd ask around and see what others were running

I live in Chicago and I'm taking a trip to bear lake in Utah to do some riding where we should encounter altitude of approximately 6000 feet. I'm a relative newbie to dirtbike riding and just checked my main and it's a 175 which seems big but it was running decent.

Any info or help you can offer, I totally appreciate

Thanks

John

Hey guys,

First off I have an '03 WR450F uncorked exhaust that I bought a few months ago.

I've seen the formula thats posted to figure out jetting but I have to admit that I was totally intimidated to actually try and figure it out so I figure I'd ask around and see what others were running

I live in Chicago and I'm taking a trip to bear lake in Utah to do some riding where we should encounter altitude of approximately 6000 feet. I'm a relative newbie to dirtbike riding and just checked my main and it's a 175 which seems big but it was running decent.

Any info or help you can offer, I totally appreciate

Thanks

John

Make sure you compare the temperatures you'll be encountering with what's "normal" for your home altitude, because that will make a difference as well. With comparable temps, if you're at sea-level, I'd expect a 2 jet size smaller would be ok. You probably won't go wrong with 1 step lower, either...I'm at 5k in Colorado and with my intake and exhaust opened up I run a 168 main and go up to 10k+ feet, although I think I could fine tune it a little more....

Ok sounds like a good plan. I just picked up a 168 and a 160 today so hopefully Im set. Thanks for the help

This will help

Jetting for Altitude and Weather