HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kjosh1982

YZ 450 for woods races

21 posts in this topic

I was wondering if any body uses a YZ450 for woods or enduro races?

I just bought an 09 and was wanting to get back into it.

Josh

yeah, i actually just got an 08 yzf 450 and i am currently in the process of setting the bike up for racing in Open A this year. Seems like it will be a great bike for the woods even though i have only ridden once with it this year so far on a moto track.

I ride an 08 in desert harescrambles. It can be a handfull in the tighter stuff because of the weight, but I'm still a novice rider. The nice thing is that it tracks straight and has a nice power delivery. I never have to worry about hillclimbs, I think it will climb anything.:thumbsup:

BTW, my full coverage skidplate as a nice scar right in front of the water pump from bouncing off a huge rock:thumbsup:

I dont race yet but I ve been riding YZF 426 and 450s in the tight trails(following race courses) in BC and they work great,lowered the gearing 51 tooth on rear bigger fuel tank and bark busters skid plate ect...

I dont race yet but I ve been riding YZF 426 and 450s in the tight trails(following race courses) in BC and they work great,lowered the gearing 51 tooth on rear bigger fuel tank and bark busters skid plate ect...

x2, except I'm in WA :thumbsup:

They make great XC bikes with their softer (for MX) lowend power. Even the stock suspension has good enough initial plushness for offroad if you're a fast guy. Super durable engine and crisp stock jetting all make it transfer to the woods easily.

1 person likes this