HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mdenhaan

I need tips for 06 YZ450F

13 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie and could use some advice. Just got back into riding after 20 years away and bought a mint condition 06 YZ450F. Any tips on this particular bike as far a maintanence or issues that have come up with this year and model so I know what to look for. Don't know much about it, but it's fast, runs like a top and seems like a great bike.

Big Mike

There really aren't any major issues to tend to with these bikes. The biggest complaint is that the front end does NOT like to stick, which most address by swapping out the front tire and/or revalving the suspension. Did you get the manual with it? That will be the biggest help on maintenance. One thing to note is that there are 2 bolts to remove the drain the oil, one on the left side of the motor and one on the bottom of the motor.

• Unless you know it was already done, open up the steering head and suspension linkage and clean it up and grease it. Replace the upper steering head bearing with PN 93332-00078-00
  • The steering head upper seal is not very good at sealing, which is why the bearing was revised. Avoid high pressure water in this area, and be sure to use a grease rated for marine use.