HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jagarcia89

Thinkin about tackling my fork

10 posts in this topic

After watchin my seals leak oil for the past 2 rides I'm gonna give it new oil and seals. I am a certified bicycle mechanic and have done many high end mountain bike forks but have never done one on a moto. My questions are

what are the similarities and differences in the two?

What parts and seals should I replace while in there? Any other tips or suggestions?

Any other tips or suggestions?
Yes.

You can start by telling us what kind of bike we're working on.

Those are the open bath, or single chamber KYB fork used on all '03 and earlier models. They're pretty simple. The manual goes start to finish through a full tear down, but there generally is no need to remove the base valve or damper cartridges.

Just remove the springs, remove the seal retainer snap rings, and pull the upper tube off the lower by snapping them to full extension sharply, as with a slide hammer.

With such an old bike, you will probably want to replace the bushings (the manual calls them "metals". Don't know why). These just snap in and out of place.

Look for scratches and dings in the inner tube. If found, sand them out with 240 or 320 wet/dry. Invest in a real seal driver ($35-60).

as Grey said - but no need to invest in a seal driver or a bullet - a well greased decent thickness ziplock bag over the inner when sliding the seals on is all you need to protect the seals from the sharp edges where the bushing sits, and you can make a seal driver from appropriately sized ABS pipe sliced lengthwise - it works perfectly fine.