Piston hours 450 2010.

Hi.How many hours can i go std piston 450 2010 yzf? Im new in Yamaha so thats why stupid question.

I would be curious what the manual says on this.....especially since this is a 4valve motor vs the traditional 5 valve motor...

Dave, Per Yamaha Tech it is 15 hrs! this was the topic last night with the Yamaha rep after a couple of Jack and Cokes.

Dave, Per Yamaha Tech it is 15 hrs! this was the topic last night with the Yamaha rep after a couple of Jack and Cokes.

Tim is that you? Were you with whats his "Yami Reps name" from Atlanta?

interesting 15hrs.....what else can you share....the good the bad and the ugly....

Hope all is well man with you and your family ... happy holidays

15 hours is what the manual has said for years, and for at least that long, it's been a ridiculously low number compared with reality. The real answer depends on exactly how the individual bike is used. A top pro racer is going to get considerably less time out of his engine in general than a purely recreational rider, an occasional racer, or even a fast amateur.

YZ450 pistons have mostly been good for at least a season except perhaps for the very serious racer. I ran my '03 on it's original piston until I sold it at the end of '07, and both my '06's are still original.

I see nothing at all in the 2010 to make me think it would not hold up at least as well. To the contrary, with the cylinder being offset, skirt thrust is reduced, and the piston should wear even less than it has on older models.

Gray, Do you think the crank is going to wear faster? looking at the angle of the rod in relation to the combustion process, it seems that the downward force on the outside perimeter of the crank would make the main bearings and crank wear faster.

No...

The offset gives a higher angle on the compression stroke which has considerably less force on the rod than the power stroke, where the rod angle is now less. Should improve skirt wear.