Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TheHarp

Chain chewed through swingarm pivot

13 posts in this topic

I have my bike (08 YZ450) torn down to replace the bearings. I found that the chain has chewed through the chain slider and through the swingarm pivot just outside the bearing. :excuseme:

I can think of three options:

1) do nothing (replace bearing as I was planning)

2) have a shop weld it up

3) replace the swingarm

Thoughts?

Wow...is this just a matter of a ton of hours on the bike and you forgot to keep a good slider on there or are you running a 12t front sprocket?

'07-'08 are the same PN. '06 should be interchangeable.

Thanks....same as the WR/YZ 250/450?

Wow...is this just a matter of a ton of hours on the bike and you forgot to keep a good slider on there or are you running a 12t front sprocket?

I'm new to dirt bikes, wasn't paying attention to the slider wear.

More likely a 44t rear, judging by the avatar.

Good eye.

The '07-'08 WR450 is the same, also, but none of the other alternatives you mentioned will work.

The '07-'08 WR450 is the same, also, but none of the other alternatives you mentioned will work.

OK...thanks. :excuseme:

Why can't a shop weld it up? If it was a structural issue, it would have failed by now (I'm guessing). :excuseme:

Why can't a shop weld it up? If it was a structural issue, it would have failed by now (I'm guessing). :excuseme:

Since he didn't show me what it looks like, I can't evaluate that. :bonk:

Probably what I would do, unless the required machine work was too expensive.

Since he didn't show me what it looks like, I can't evaluate that. :excuseme:

Probably what I would do, unless the required machine work was too expensive.

I don't have a picture of it. I'm sure it could be welded up, but if I can pick up a good used swingarm off of ebay, that would be the shorter/simpler path for me.