HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
iamadam1122

Can a bent header be repaired?

12 posts in this topic

My head pipe bent in a crash. I took it to one exhaust shop so far and they said they couldn't do anything because its titanium. Anyone else know if its fixable?

33jlt7d.jpg

I have a couple stories about bent head pipes but can't confirm them .......One of my buddies said he filled his pipe with water and froze it in the freezer and it fixed it......another guy said he made some plugs to cap the pipe and put compressed air in it and slowly heated it with a OA torch and that fixed his pipe......I'm a welder and I looked at your picture or your pipe and think with the creases in the radius's your probably going to buy a new pipe so you have nothing to lose I would try the freezing

method first.....Good luck

Thanks for the advice. I'll give the freezing method a try. The crease is pretty bad its almost pinched shut completely

I have a couple stories about bent head pipes but can't confirm them .......One of my buddies said he filled his pipe with water and froze it in the freezer and it fixed it......another guy said he made some plugs to cap the pipe and put compressed air in it and slowly heated it with a OA torch and that fixed his pipe......I'm a welder and I looked at your picture or your pipe and think with the creases in the radius's your probably going to buy a new pipe so you have nothing to lose I would try the freezing

method first.....Good luck