HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
johnyd05

new to the 426 as well as dirt biking!

55 posts in this topic

Just bought my first bike. it is a 01 426. The guy I got it from didn't know how many hours on it and if the piston/valves had anything done to them. The bike is in great shape on the outside. Before I start riding, what maintenance should I have performed?

I need a new rear tire, what size does it take. and what make model do u recommend?

I am new to the dirt bike thing but an avid car mechanic. where is a good place to get an assembly manual as well as buy parts?

You can find the manuals, and a lot of other things by visiting the Common Threads Sticky.

Manuals: http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/community/service/manuals.jsp

The tire currently on the bike has the size on it, but the bike takes a 110/90x19. Which tire to buy depends on where you ride, but the Dunlop 952 is a versatile, fairly inexpensive, and very durable tire that will work in more places than it won't.

The first thing you should is change the exhaust cam to auto decompression or you will hate this bike !!