HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kenaroo

help with Marzocchi 45 mm shivers

10 posts in this topic

I'm currently trying to improve my Marzocchi Shiver 45's on my Beta 525. The fork action is acceptable except that the forks are blowing through the stroke on flat landings and "g" outs. .

The springs are .48's for my 210 lbs. 5 wt oil 90 mm from the top. I'm an 0-40 expert racing gps and hare scrambles here in Texas

The internal set-up is very basic. The base valve is shimmed heavy. The rebound shim stack is also heavy. There's no mid-valve, just a check valve set-up.

The base valve piston has very restrictive flow with only four 2 mm holes that feed the oil flow to the shim stack.

The Base Valve stack is as follows:

23 x 0.15

23 x 0.15

12 x 0.10 (cross over)

23 x 0.10

21 x 0.10

19 x 0.10

17 x 0.15

15 x 0.15

13 x 0.20

10 (base valve body)

The dampening valve (rebound check valve) is as follows:

22 x 0.10

22 x 0.10

22 x 0.10

22 x 0.10

Top of the valve has a check plate and light spring.

Could one of you suspension experts add their thoughts on this shim combination.

where is your comp clicker? and what have you tried with it? and how did it feel if you adjusted it?

I'm in Austin.

I have an 05 525 rr

running 2.5 wt oil 90 mm height.

Comp is 14 from full tight

rebound is 10 from full tight.

if I tighten her up any more I get killer arm pump and the bike doesn't handle.

with the current settings. she's real good through the trees and if I land perfect on the MX track (which doesn't happen very often).