HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
finthat

[B]High compression or not??[/B]

15 posts in this topic

I am going to be building my engine soon('03 yz450f). Just wondering if it is worth it to use the Wiseco high compression pistons or not. Do they shorten the life of anything in the engine bottom end ect? I imagine jetting and octane levels may become more critical with more compression. I would also think it would run hotter? I am still learning the in's and out's of the high performance 4 strokers. Advice needed.

PS. I am just a "weekend warrior" type. I like racing my buddies on thier quads and bikes on the local mx track. We also do some trail type riding ect. I am not a high performance rider, I still need to go to work on monday's.:thumbsup:

Thanks

Don't do it! I have a 426 with the 13.5 wiseco and its a little too much compression. It wants to ping going up hills in 4th and 5th causing me to have to downshift. Also it makes the motor chug a little at lower rpms. Run the 12.5 piston, I regret the 13.5. Im looking for a deal on the 12.5 and when I get it, its going in.

I have a 13:5:1 in my 08 Kawi and love it. I run 1/4 U4.2 gas just for peace of mind and might even go to a 50/50 mix. I race though A lot and ride nothing but track. I think a HC piston would be the best route if you were ever going to do motor work like stroker, big bore, etc. BUT the 03 was a monster engine was want it?

i put a high compression piston in all my bikes and i love it. you get more power everywhere..