Wr426 Help!?!?!

hey guys, i'm new to thumpertalk so don't really know what's up and where to post, sorry

but on my 01 wr426, i get the bike warmed up, ride for maybe 5 minutes and the idle shoots waaaaay up, as if the choke was on and pushes the bike... i can litterally go from a standstill through 3rd without twisting the throttle??? even while cruising if i pull the clutch, the idle jumps, just with clutch in

on flats if i use the front brake the bike pushes so hard that the front tire locks up while the rear tire pushes it forward??? coming down hills is impossible and i kill it and put it in nuetral

i'm not to sure if it's in the carb or what causes it to act up after about 5 minutes of riding :ride:

thank you, and like i said new to thumpertalk and it's kinda scattered so didn't know where to post, but just let me know and i'll throw it somewhere else

Probably your idle screw. Back it down, so that it idles how you want it to after it is warm. As far as posting goes if you click on the forum tab in the top right, from there scroll down and you will find under Yamaha a link that is just for WR's. And welcome!!! Everyone on here has helped me out a ton, I'm a newbie to.

that would be kinda a pain in my ass trying to set the idle screw back again once it's cold???

so go ride it, turn the screw to lower the idle while it's revving high, then the next morning it'll be dead and have to adjust, and adjust and adjust???

Set the idle while its hot so it'll idle when your out on a ride. Then you just leave it set at that, and choke it the first start to get her warmed up.

cool thanks it was just weird cause i choke it, and it goes, give it 30 seconds +- then cut the choke and idle's perfect, but i'll play with the idle cause that makes sense

any way the carb could be dirty and getting held open??? or just play with idle and see what happens