When using the e-start get "zapp" sound - 07' WR

I was interested in swapping out my stock odometer for an ICO dual sport model. Underneath the stock odo, there are three sets of wires. I unplugged all three and tried to start it with the button. Nothing happened. I figured this beforehand, but gave it a shot anyway.

Now, when I try to button start the bike gives a "buzz" or "zapp" sound for the length of time that I hold the button. It kicks with ease, no probs there.

The buzz or zapp sound comes from under the seat, where the battery and fuses are. There are 2 fuses, one is an extra, I believe. I tried to swap the fuses and no change.

Anyone have any idea what this might be???

I'll save my questions about removing the odo for another topic......

Thanks!

Ignition Relay.

I'm having drama's with my electric start at the moment too.

Check out my thread below.

You'll see from this that I'm no expert, William is the man to ask.

https://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=636965

Thanks dazzabb. Since I just got my bike new, it couldn't be the starter. It has to be one of the relays. After I disconnected the wires from the odometer and tried to start it, maybe it fried a connection? I don't see how, but l am clueless with electronics.

After I kick it, switch it off, and immediately try the button it does start, but maybe that is because there is slighty more current passing through the relay at that point?

If I wait a minute after switching off, I get the zapp again.

Thanks, and I'll stay on track with your post too for any future developments.