HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
greatgooglymoogly

wr250F versus WR450F

18 posts in this topic

Other than price, is there any reason to buy a Yamaha WR250F rather than a WR450F? More power is a good thing in my view, but I am wondering whether the 250 handles significantly better or is that much easier to ride than the 450. I mainly ride on Virginia farmland (rolling hills and pasture) and woods. Any advice would be very much appreciated. I have been riding something with a motor and 2 wheels for decades, but only sporadically and casually and I have limited knowledge of the finer points (as is evidenced by my question).

For myself, I find the bigger power makes the 450 easier to ride. You are already riding a bike that weighs too much.Its only a few pounds heavier and lots more power. If I had to ride a 250F, I wouldnt. Id go to a YZ250 instead

wr250 has pretty good power . the comparison is similar to a 1000cc crotch rocket to a 600 cc crotch rocket or a 600cc sled to a 1000cc .

they both scare the shit out of you the bigger one just does a little more when you floor it .

The 250F is a lot lighter , a lot easier to ride and will tire you out a lot less. The weight will not be felt in lbs, instead it will be felt in the rotating mass. It feels a lot different.

More power is good sometimes, but also risky at other times.

If you are an experiencec rider, who rides hard and fast in open spaces, then get the 450. You'll need it. if you ride for fun, get the 250f. It will do everything you want it to do and then some.