Kenzo

XR650L kickstand safety bypass & removal

31 posts in this topic

did a search but couldn't find wut i wus looking for...

i want to bypass AND remove the kickstand safety and associated wiring/hardware...cud someone point me in the right direction or provide instructions?

i haven't opened the case where the wires enter yet but since i'm new to XR's i'm waiting for the maintence/repair manual to arrive before i have at it on my own.

TIA,

kenny

I believe if you connect the clutch safety switch wires together it will bypass all safeties.

if your not looking to get rid of the switch then just take off kickstand and zip tie switch out of the way. Might be alot more hassle than its worth to completely eliminate the wire and switch. Just an option though.

I believe if you connect the clutch safety switch wires together it will bypass all safeties.

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties. Tying them together just bypasses the clutch switch.

Dave

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties. Tying them together just bypasses the clutch switch.

Dave

Thanks for the info Dave.

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties

Just curious, how do you do that? Where do you ground the wires?

Just be careful bypassing the clutch safety....

Had a friend crash on a huge hill in the Hatfield-McCoys on his L, Crushed Throttle tube so it hung open, accidentally hit the ebutton turning the bike around...

Ghost ride all the way down till impact w/ said Tree:bonk:

Just be careful bypassing the clutch safety....

Had a friend crash on a huge hill in the Hatfield-McCoys on his L, Crushed Throttle tube so it hung open, accidentally hit the ebutton turning the bike around...

Ghost ride all the way down till impact w/ said Tree:bonk:

Yeah, I'm not really a big fan of fully bypassing everything, but when you need to debug or bypass to get home, its good to know!

Dave

Dave