WR or YZ, 250 or 450

Newbie here needing some help. First off I 42 y/o, 6'2" and weigh 250. I rode alot growing up but have been into boats the last 15 yrs.This X-mas I bought a new 07' WR 450. I have done the free mods and the bike runs well. It seems were are going to be doing mostly or all Motocross, I thought I was going trail riding which is why I got the WR. So here's my problem, my bike seems to bottom out alot on jumps, and doesn't seem to have as much power as I thought It would. I have ridden my friends new YZ-250, and it seems to handle my weight fine and have as much or maybe more power. Should I keep my bike and upgrade the suspension, and live with the extra weight, or trade it for a New YZ, I don't know what size I would get, but I'm leaning toward the 450 even though the 250 feels fine.

My concerns with each is, weight, lack of power, and suspension never beng as good with the wr-450, Lack of power with the yz-250 as I get more experience but I like the wt, Maybe a little afraid of the wt and power of the yz-450, but I don't really think that would be an issue.

I just don't really want to by another new bike and regret it after a couple of months when hopefully I improve.

Thanks for the help and sorry about the lenth.

Michael

The WR does have some extra weight up under the seat with a battery and all plus the lights/starter. I can say this since I have ridden both. WR is a great bike if you want a tame throttle for floggin down low a good bit plus you can ride at night. YZ is smoother up top. Heres the cool thing though. You can drop a couple bucks on a YZ exhaust cam and shebang you got yourself a WZ. Motors are identical with the exception of exhaust cam and a couple of peripherals. You may want then want to adjust the rear spring preload to soak up your xtra weight. I am guessing that your weight is less affecting on the 250 since its lighter all over. :cool: