2004 WR450F won't start

My husband has a 2004 WR450F and it won't start. When we try to kick start the bike we can hear it trying to fire, but nothing happens. We took the carb off, and I took it apart to make sure nothing was plugged up or dirty (which I am not an expert on doing). We then put the carb back on and tried to start it. It took a good bit of kick starting but it finally fired up for about 20 seconds, and then died. It wants to fire up, but nothing. We know the battery isn't holding a charge, but our mechanic told us the bike should run even with the battery being junk. Anyone have any tips on what might be wrong?! A little note, my old man put a little of his chainsaw gas in the bike.:rolleyes:

if the chainsaw gas is mix thats yuor porblem. drain the gas and put straight in it change the plug and drain the carb and start it up. the oil in the gas is fowling your plug.if its not premix gas then try a plug, clean the pilot jet again and check your airfilter b sure it is clean from debrie and fire that wr up.

if the chainsaw gas is mix thats yuor porblem. drain the gas and put straight in it change the plug and drain the carb and start it up. the oil in the gas is fowling your plug.if its not premix gas then try a plug, clean the pilot jet again and check your airfilter b sure it is clean from debrie and fire that wr up.

I agree.....

Copesticker,the tank and carb need to be fully cleaned out.. Draining the gas out is not good enough. Take the carb completely off the bike, spray carb cleaner in ALL the passages and blow compressed air to clean them out. Changing the plug is always a good ideal. Also, make sure that you've installed the carb slide plate on correctly, it's a common mistake made by many of us.....

A little note, my old man put a little of his chainsaw gas in the bike.:rolleyes:
:naughty:

When was the last time the bike ran? Has it been sitting along time or had it progressively gotten worse?