HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
yzfjbw323

Engine noise 450

28 posts in this topic

Hey guys I am very new to this 4 stroke thing

I bought a 2007 yz450 used, it seems to me there is alot of engine noise, most notably a slight clicking sound. Not having a manual yet I am scared to even touch the engine other than oil changes, do you think the clicking is a serious problem or am I a uneducated 4-stroke rider?

i believe it is normal. Mine had it since day one. No problems so far and it has 30 hours on it. It is disconcerting but you get used to it.

I rode one and it did not have a click noise but there was a lot of racket in the engine. I noticed a difference when I pulled in the clutch. The owner said it was normal.

Go to the local MX track and listen to other YZ's and make sure the noise is similiar.

its normal.. mine does the same thing. yamis have very noisy engines, yami adressed this in the new 08.

yah,its normal.Mine only has 13 hours on it and the clicking noise drives me nuts.I swear that it didnt make it when new.

Funny, every time I stop and pull in the clutch, I think holly shit this thing makes a lot of noise, but it's normal. Where in ID?

im curious, does anyone know if this "clankyness" plagues only the "all new" 06/07 motors or is it all year 450's?

Thanks for all your help guys I feel alot better now.

I live in Boise WB, where are you from?

This is a 5 valve engine with two cams, these motors often make ticking noises at idle. If the noise gets worst or gets extremely loud when reeving the engine you may want to consider adjusting your valves. Make sure you have oil!