flatspin

how to 450X exhaust mod

104 posts in this topic

I just bought a new 450X out of the crate yesterday. I have done the airbox mod, installed the JD jet kit, and installed the emissions block off kit. I am new to 4 strokes and unclear on how to do the exhaust mod. I have the insert pulled out of my exhaust and am not sure what to keep and what to get rid of?

turns out it was not as simple as I thought, how do you remove the stock baffle from the screen insert, your first pic.

leave everything on your bike and just remove the one torx screw on the bottom that connects the baffle to the SA. You can see it on the top pic. Now you might need some channel locks and a flat head screw driver to get it out. either grab onto the little lip with the pliers and or get the screw driver behind the little lip and pry it out some. Once you get it out a little you should be able to use you hand with a glove on. Some are tougher than others but it will slide out.

sound, without the baffle it comes in right at 96 db but with it modded it comes in at 93. still more power at 96 and better throttle response

have you guys tried the bike without any baffle and without the plate with the 4 screws? it rips but makes you deaf!!! i couldnt stand it...

i have the entire inner baffle removed and i think its a bit to loud. Bike goes great but it will still go great with the inner baffle still fitted. I have lost my inner baffle so now im looking for an 05 CRF450R muffler. Apparently they are a bolt on item for my 06 450x where as the 06 450r will not bold straight on due to the sub frame design.

Can anyone confirm that the '05 450R pipe will bolt right on to the '05-'07 450X?