HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hawgman94

Xr650l Life Span ?

24 posts in this topic

OK guys, I'm a noob here and I am seriously thinkin' bout gettin' a new '07 xr650l.....Like in the next month or two. First off-road bike me ! I have heard you all say these are "bullet proof", but what I'm looking for is a little more definition.:applause: How many miles on average will this thing go without any motor work? (except valve adjust). Also if anyone has a maintenance routine I would appreciate it very much !!! Thanx in advance !

I think that a 650L will go almost forever as long it doesnt miss oil....Someday its gonna start smoking but will keep going...with enought oil.

How it is ridden and how well you service it. We have heard of bikes with 30K on them and still running fine with no smoke.

I think a check up would be needed at around 50 000km. But as other sais it depend on maintenance and the way it was driven.

OK...I will be more specific. If the bike is serviced according to the service manual and left bone stock. Also riding about 70-80% street. Under those conditions what milage would I expect to do any major work ?? I'm no mechanic so by major I mean anything above adjusting valves.

Welcome to TT hawgman.