99 WR400f trouble starting

I am new to the riding world and have a 99 wr 400. I am having trouble starting the bike. I have been told there is a new cam that can be swapped to fix the problem. I am looking for the part number and to hear about any experiences with the problem and fix. I am thinking of selling the bike for one with an E start if I cant fix the problem, but the bike runs and rides great once it is started. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Lupe

Is it just the starting drill you are having problems with?

cold

(1) choke out

(2) Kick slowly down until the lever becomes hard to push (top dead center)

(3) Take foot off of kick lever (bring to top)

(4) Pull in compression release and nudge kick lever a hair past hard spot (top dead center.) then let kick lever come back to the top.

(5) My 400 likes 2 to 3 twist of throttle (this may vary)

(6) Remove hand from throttle and place on front brake cylinder as not to inadvertently give throttle while kicking.

(6) Kick firmly down through full kick range

Repeat if needed.

When bike is warm no throttle twists or choke are needed.

If you stall or drop the bike the hot start may be required.

If you still have a problem check your valves as they may be tight.

I have also seen where an idle set too high can hinder starting.

You really should have no problem starting the 400 when done corectly

but don't try to start it with running shoes on as it does require a good firm kick. I have never had a problem starting my 400 when I'm wear my MX boots.