HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jbird710

Installing handguards

14 posts in this topic

This probably should be in the "General" fourm and I've searched for my question without finding an answer. I've been working on bikes for many years, but never installed handguards before. My question is how do you guys handle the throttle side? Is it necessary to cut off the end of the throttle tube to insert the expansion clamp in the end of the bars or is there some trick to do this without cutting the whole end off? Do you cut the ridge off of the end of the grip or just cut out a hole in the end of it?:ride: If you cut the entire end off of the throttle tube, wouldn't there be a problem with getting dirt between the tube and the bars? Are there any special tricks or best practice ways to install the guards?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Drill it out don't cut it off, that way you don't lose and length on the tube.

I just replaced a throttle tube recently. I soaked it in hot water to loosen the glue holding the end piece on, then just popped it off by pushing it onto the handlebar. The end cap popped right off.

I use a "Unibit" and drill right thru the rubber & throttle tube till I get the desired hole size to fit the handguard keeper. If it looks like the rubber lip on the end of the throttle grip is going to cause trouble, I cut it off.

Then drill the clutch side grip, blow air thru the bars before installing the handguards.

Don't tighten anything till you have both handguards on.