HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BWP Jockey

Am i delirious

4 posts in this topic

I've been riding the big bore Honda 's for many years,I think I'm on my 5th one.Xrr's l's from the 80's,90's ect.I've been hearing alot of cr500 talk lately,so I decided to have closer look.I'm getting older now (40) and ride with my son (01 cr250r).He is getting pretty fast.Mostly moto x type stuff.My xr600 is so reliable,I don't find it fast enough,and its big bucks to make her faster.It will always be just as heavy as ever.The cr500 is lighter,cheap,but I'm not sure if I want to re-enter the high maintianance 2 stroke world. Please slap me back into reality.Or how about just an opinion. Thanks.

I'm a die hard XR/XL 4 stroke guy, but I have several friends with 500cc 2 strokes. The CR500 is a beast. That engine will really wear you out. The first year, 1985 is the most powerful, and they mellowed very slightly after that. They also have MX tuned suspensions that are kind of harsh. I haven't tried but a few of the USD ones from the early 90's. An 87 or 88 with the last of the upright forks is regarded as some of the best CR500 suspension for off road. These forks are pretty close to the 90's XR600 forks. I'm sure that the later USD models can be helped with a revalve though.

One friend has both a 90 (or 91) CR500 and a 04 KX500. He really prefers the KX for offroad suspension wise. He also says that it doesn't tire him out as fast.