WR400 owner in Australia, after some advice!

Hello boys and girls! My name is Dao, I'm new to this forum. I'm 23 years old, and from Melbourne, Australia. I've been working in a Yamaha dealership for over 7 years, but now I'm working part-time driving forklifts while studying to be a mech. engineer. Hooray!

Now that I'm past the introduction stuff that no-one will really care about, down to my questions.

I had to sell my WR250F to help pay for my engineering schooling, and I've recently been given a 1999 WR400 for the right price, and by 'the right price', I mean free. The thing is a bit of a shambles, definitely needs a bit of time and $$$ spent on it to make it Dao-worthy! I've had a bit of a browse around this forum (I only signed up earlier today) and I've found a couple of interesting things such as the YZ cam-timing mod etc., but what would be the first thing you guys would suggest I do to it? I'm going to pull the entire bike to bits and reassemble it with grease and Loctite, as I do this to every bike I've ever owned.

My bike has the gargantuan 12-litre tank on it (standard fitment on the Australian-market WR400F/426F), and I'd like to convert it to the 8-litre tank that was standard on the YZ250F/400F/426F. A tank and seat combo here in Australia will cost me upwards of $900, so I was wondering if any of you guys know of the best place to mailorder this setup from the States? I can't handle how big and fat it is, and I have no need for such a big tank (most of our rides are two-or-three hour blasts through a nice tight enduro loop), and I used to enjoy how slim my WR250F was. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your help mates, and I'm looking forward to being an active member on this forum in the future.

keep the big tank!!! go on longer rides!

if the bike was free, spend the $$$ on parts it needs.

Oudy mate,