HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
flashback7270

best gearing for mostly dirt???

16 posts in this topic

hello i have a 1999 honda xr650l any ideas on the best gearing for mostly dirt riding also would i have to replace the chian? thanks alot im new to the tt and i cant say enough good things.

I am running a 14/48 from 15/45 stock its been perfect. you could try a 13t counter for even lower gearing. No you wont have to change or lengthen the chain.

The easiest first thing to do is just get a 14t front sprocket. Try it and see how it goes. If it's not enough then you could try a 13t front. It's quick and easy compared to changing the rear sprocket. When it comes time for a new chain get the 48t rear.

14/48 with stock 110 chain. Works great in the dirt. Also ride 20 miles to work, up to 70 mph and no problems.

hello i have a 1999 honda xr650l any ideas on the best gearing for mostly dirt riding also would i have to replace the chian? thanks alot im new to the tt and i cant say enough good things.

I'm running 13/45 with stock chain. I can just touch 90 (GPS) on level road ('00 650L uncorked, Mikuni flatside carb, WB E2 pipe). Next time I put a new tire on back, it'll get a 48 rear.

Thanks, any ideas on best steel sprockets for 96 xr650l? Looking at Sunstar 14/48 steel. Also, best chain? Glad I checked here, lots of great info!

I'm running 13/45 with stock chain. I can just touch 90 (GPS) on level road ('00 650L uncorked, Mikuni flatside carb, WB E2 pipe). Next time I put a new tire on back, it'll get a 48 rear.

Ewbish! How are you like your flat slide carb?