HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Hamish

Valves - just in time!

12 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, been a few months since I've been in here. Thought i'd share this little expereince with you all. I've known for a while that my centre inlet valve was pretty much buggered (on the smallest shim, clearance closes up 0.05 ever 10 hours or so). Little did I know just how close to disaster it really was. I'm feeling lucky so I might go buy a lottery ticket.

Inlet%20valve.JPG

OK... everybody might laugh but I'm a valve newbie. What's wrong with this valve? (If it does not take too much of your time) :naughty:

the hard coating has worn off this valve causing it to seriously wear on the area that touches the valve seat. The signs that you bike is suffereing from this problem is when your valve clearance keeps closing up. This is indicating that the valve is sinking deeper inside the head. It wouldnt be long before this valve 'mushroomed' because the area above the seating surface has worn that thin that it simply bent. Hope this makes sense. The bottom line is this. A broken $100 valve will cause $1000's of damage. It's cheaper the replace the valves first, than have to replace the piston, barrel, head and the valves.

What Hamish said. :naughty:

I finally had to re shim my 99 WR 400. It was just under spec.

I had 3 175' a 174 and a 172. I am assuming they were stock although I bought the bike used in 2002. I put 170's in all but the middle valve where I was able to use the 172. How many more times do you think I will be able to re-shim