New rings?

Since i had to take my cylinder off i was wondering if its ok to change just the rings like a 2 stroke. bike has alot of time on it.

Well, when I had mine apart I re-used the old piston. I had tons of hours on it but still had all the cross-hatching. I just honed out the cyclindar and installed new rings and had no trouble.

if the piston is in spec and looks good i'd just re-ring and hone the cylinder.. spose to hone the cylinder any time u replace piston or rings i believe.

I'm just a back yard mechanic, but if I'm not mistaken, you don't hone these because of the plating.

Greyracer could probably answer that question better though. He's older and YZ'er.

Very Cute. :naughty:

Nevertheless, yes, hone the cylinder. Use a bottle brush type hone about a half inch larger in diameter than the cylinder. Use a low speed drill, about 500-700 rpm, and run the hone up and down the full length of the bore rapidly as you turn it to give a good cross hatch.

Before anyone mentions it, I saw MXA this month too, and I have no idea who it was that decided that "dingleberry" hones won't work anymore, but they work great for me :naughty: I'm afraid I'm going to disagree.

They great thing is that they are glaze breakers only. The will not remove significant amounts of metal, nor change the shape of the bore. I've used them for years, and have never had a set of rings fail to seat when I used them. My son's 250F was broken in on full synthetic M1 MX4T, and hasn't used a drop since it's 3rd hour.

OK, so i have to hone the cylinder if i put new rings on it? what if i just put new rings on it. it still has the crossing in the cylinder.

Very Cute. :naughty:

Nevertheless, yes, hone the cylinder. Use a bottle brush type hone about a half inch larger in diameter than the cylinder. Use a low speed drill, about 500-700 rpm, and run the hone up and down the full length of the bore rapidly as you turn it to give a good cross hatch.