JD Kit Questions

Ive got a question about the JD Jetting Kit I just bought. I'm riding mostly mountain trails in So. Cal altitude 4-6 thousand feet. Using Pro Circuit exaust.

i had a low range sputter which I'm pretty confident I'm going to be cured

of due to excessive accelerator pump duration. (Just did the BK Mod...not tested at altitude yet) But it looks like it will work well. Still running the stock Pilot jet by the way.

My problem is that I was running a 160 main jet and was still burning a Fat plug before. Now i'm getting ready to put in the JD kit and it says to use a 170 main and the blue needle. I'm not a pro carb tuner but everything i'm seeing is telling me this will just make things worse. I'm tempted to run the red needle with the same jets but would like to hear pros/cons if anyone has had a simular problem.

Ive got a question about the JD Jetting Kit I just bought. I'm riding mostly mountain trails in So. Cal altitude 4-6 thousand feet. Using Pro Circuit exaust.

i had a low range sputter which I'm pretty confident I'm going to be cured

of due to excessive accelerator pump duration. (Just did the BK Mod...not tested at altitude yet) But it looks like it will work well. Still running the stock Pilot jet by the way.

My problem is that I was running a 160 main jet and was still burning a Fat plug before. Now i'm getting ready to put in the JD kit and it says to use a 170 main and the blue needle. I'm not a pro carb tuner but everything i'm seeing is telling me this will just make things worse. I'm tempted to run the red needle with the same jets but would like to hear pros/cons if anyone has had a simular problem.

The JD needle is a little larger in diameter. I think the 170 is better suited for sea level. I ride around 1-2000ft and was happy with the 168. According to the calculator you will want to go smaller than that at 6000ft. try the jetting forum and ask JD. He seems very helpfull.