HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sonorawfo

D/S tire XR650R

13 posts in this topic

I'm working on a buddys bike, 02 XR650R, that will be used 80/20, offroad,street. I have been riding & racing for almost 4 decades & I prefer the Pirelli MT21,s for D/S use. While not the best offroad tire they work decent & just plain outlast everything else I've used. This rider just wants to do some trailriding + use the bike as a work comuter. Any better suggestions???. :)

The 130-series MT21 is more aggressive than the 120 series (if that's what you've used). Of course, there's always the terraflex.

The MT21 is a good choice, and only loses out to the 'flex in deep mud and sand.

The 21 is better in the rocks.

Dave

I'm working on a buddys bike, 02 XR650R, that will be used 80/20, offroad,street. I have been riding & racing for almost 4 decades & I prefer the Pirelli MT21,s for D/S use. While not the best offroad tire they work decent & just plain outlast everything else I've used. This rider just wants to do some trailriding + use the bike as a work comuter. Any better suggestions???. :)

My buddy wa not impressed by the longevity of the MT21 on his 650r. But I think he will never be happy with any tire on this bike :)

Just to give you another option, I've heard good things about the Michelin Baja. Probably very pricey though.

I was not happy with the 606 in the soft stuff but every where else it was ok. It did last for long time.