HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MO_YZ450F

Oil Change Question 04 YZ450F

11 posts in this topic

Okay all, I've been riding bikes for many years and this new 04' bike has got me stumped. Here is the problem. When changing the oil (typical, no oil filter change), I take out the drain plug (bottom of engine), then side bolt (by gear shift lever ), then the manual says to also unscrew the bottom oil filter drain plug. Should I have to do that if I don't want to change the filter?

Part two: After all the oil has drained, I hold down the kill button and kick 5 times, clearing out all oil leftover that didn't drain. Then I put all the screws back in, and fill with 1000ML or 1 Qt. Manual says 1.07 for typical change, 1.17 w/ oil filter change, for a total of 1.27 qts. Anyway, once I fill the bike with 1000ML, I start for 3 minutes. Let cool for 5. Check the dipstick for oil level and as soon as I unscrew the dipstick from the frame, oil starts flowing out!! This makes me believe I have to much oil in the bike, but this can't be!

Please help! Also, I do check for oil pressure and that is fine. Thanks.

yeah same thing happened to me ... but i came back from riding 150 miles or so and i checked my oil level and it flowed out of the dipstick hole .. i took some oil out i figured that it was too full ... i wouldnt worry about it

if you get it running around normal temp and then try and change the oil it all squirts out form the pressure. Id say warm it up for just a minute the change the oil and see what happens.