Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jbordwine

Making an XR650R street legal? Worth the hassle?

12 posts in this topic

Here's the story...I've been riding on and off for about 15 years now, started on a YZ80 and ridden mostly two strokes up until I sold my RMX250 last year. I've also owned a few rice rockets. I just bought my son his first 4-wheeler and hope to get back into trail riding. I've looked at the dual sport bikes, no offense, but they just don't seem as beefy as the off-road or mx type bikes. I figure I'll ride off-road about 75% of the time but I've always wanted to "legally" ride my trail bikes on road. What are the main differences between the XR650R and the XR650L. I know, I know, the L is street legal and the R is not. I did some searching but mostly found scattered information. Would it be worth the hassle to get an 02 or 03 650R and make it street legal or just try to find the 650L model and make it more trail worthy??? Like I mentioned, 75% off-road. BTW, I'm 6'3 and weigh about 225.

Where do you live? :cry:

In Arizona, all you need is a mirror , a horn, and $120 for registration(plus $70 a year for min. insurance). That is worth the hassle.

:cry:

What are the main differences between the XR650R and the XR650L. I know, I know, the L is street legal and the R is not. I did some searching but mostly found scattered information. Would it be worth the hassle to get an 02 or 03 650R and make it street legal or just try to find the 650L model and make it more trail worthy??? Like I mentioned, 75% off-road. BTW, I'm 6'3 and weigh about 225.

You'll likely get a zillion replies to this one! Some guys will supply the technical differences or point you to previous posts. That's not me!

I'm also 6'3" and 225, hey, how 'bout that? :cry: I rode (trail, dirt road, general exploring stuff) as a teenager, then just got back into it 2 years ago with my kids.

This last weekend I spent about 4 hours on my 650R and 3 hours on my dad's 650L.