Gordon Mods......02 XR 250

As I am very new to the sport, and also very new to working on bikes or performing modifications of any type, I am wondering what order I should do the modifications, and also, while all you TT experts are responding, would like to know which of the mods are a bit more difficult to do than the others. I know drilling the hole's at the muffler's end is likely the easiest, but rejetting is a bit intemidating as I really don't want to screw up a perfectly running bike. If i do some mods to the exhaust does that force my hand in having to do a rejet. I look forward to digging into these things, just apprehensive to get into it.

newbie jokes accepted and expected. thanks in advance.

insert.gif

Once removed, if you modify your baffle as shown in the picture the power difference is very noticeable with only slightly more noise. It's just a matter of grinding off the welds holding the small pipe into the back of the baffle. I did not have to rejet after this modification but when I opened the airbox and ground the header weld I did then have to jet up. I'm at about sea level. I found the bike to be too loud for my taste with the baffle completely removed. Maybe someday I'll make a down-turn for the exhaust and pull the baffle again.

Rejetting the XR is easy. The mainjet can be changed without removing the carb, or even the float bowl. The mixture screw can also be reached easily with a small screwdriver.

I have the baffle removed as well as the backfire screen on the OEM air filter cage, and I've had good results with a 135 main and 2.5 turns on the screw. I'm typically 200-700 ft above sea level.

XR250R-Insert.gif

eeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, that's gross.

Please don't point that thing at me! :cry: