2002 xr 650 emissions block help please!

hello every one. i am new to this sight and i need your help. i purchased the power up kit and the applied racing emissions block kit. i have not installed the power up kit yet, but i have installed the emissions block kit. after installing the kit i took out the two restrictive pieces in the air box. i then started my bike and it sounded like sh&t . like it was bogging down, too rich maybe. i messed with the timing on the carb, didnt help much. i put the restrictive pieces back in the airbox, started it up, sounds great. only problem is this, from a low idle, if i hit the throttle very hard and fast, it dies. if i ease into the throttle then hit it hard its fine. is there help for me or am i just screwed? any and all help would be appreciated! :):D

You're gonna have to install the power up kit to compensate for the amount of air you're letting in after removing the restrictors.

You mention that you messed with the carburetor timing, I'm assuming that you're talking about the idle mixture. I would say that you need to adjust it again after putting the restrictors back in.

After you install the power up kit, and remove the restrictors, you will have to go to a bigger main jet and possibly a bigger pilot. I got my kit from Baja Designs, and it included everything except the pilot. They don't recommend going to a larger pilot jet, but I am going to try it, as I've got some advice from some other folks here on this site that recommended it.

You're gonna love the power up kit...it makes it a totally different bike... :)

I'm curious how you removed the stock air pipes from the head. Did you have to remove the radiators? I just removed the valve and plugged the hoses, figuring that I'll wait to remove the pipes when I have a good reason to remove the radiators.