Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BIGGITY

Got myself in a pinch!!! Need help XR650R Throttle problems!!

4 posts in this topic

I'm just beginning to understand how to work on this bike (mostly by tearing it down and then putting things back together). So here is my dilema:

I bought some Acerbis aluminum bar bark busters and ran into a problem putting them on. Got the clutch side one on fine but when trying to put the right one on I found that the stock plastic throttle tube didn't have a big enough hole for the metal bar/tightener to go through. I could get it through ut when tightened down it would not allow freeplay for the throttle to move freely. So I took the throttle tube off and cut out the end of the tube so there was space for the throttle to move easily. Well when I was doing that I took the top of the cable tracer (don't know what the real term is) off and when I did the cable moved right over against the wall of the plastic. Now I can't get that top piece back on because it's friggen impossible to get that cable in the track while trying to jam it down before the cable moves (man am I doing a horrible job of explaining this). Is anybody understanding this?? And if so how do you get that cable thread? I'm leaving for Kennedy Meadows Thursday so I'm really bummed right now unless I can get this bike back together. HELP!! :cry::lol: :lol: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :lol: :lol: :lol:

41 looks and not a single one of you have any clue???