simple question

im new to the liquid cooled bikes and nobody on this forum has givin me the answer to my question hope you guys can help me out :thumbsup:

my brand new 04 yz450f motor(engine noise) is really noisy is this normal?

it is a lot noisier than my xr 600

are you talking all around more noise, or to a specific area of the engine? I imagine you have checked your oil level, a low level could make the engine noiser if certain parts are not getting enough oil ie... valves, bearings.

they arent the quietest motors around. make sure you arent confusing the engine noise with chain noise.

they arent the quietest motors around. make sure you arent confusing the engine noise with chain noise.

yer, I thought my motor was real noisy, but turned out to be the chain. I put some foam under the chain guide, that made a huge difference :thumbsup:

Welcome to the liquid cooled world. The new engines use much thinner and lighter materials than the old air cooled engines. Due to the nature of the valve cover you can hear alot more valve train and cam chain noise, it's normal. Definitly put some foam under the chain slider on the swingarm, open up the exhaust and let it rip. Free mods are woth it. Good Luck-WR Dave. :thumbsup:

who has the link to the foam under the guide info.

mine is starting to piss me off. thx.

I can't find my link for it, Very easy to do, just take the chain slider of, clean the surface, i used The foam that you use between doors to seal it if there is a gap. It has a sticky surface on one side, just lay it down where the slider sits, then put the slider back on. I only done mine last month. Not to sure it will last long though.

:thumbsup:

on the bottem or the top?