StewC

Why is my Drz-400s still running completely fine after leaving the pet cock on PRIME for 3 weeks?

12 posts in this topic

So I'm pretty new to carb bikes, I used to have a CBR-600rr and decided I wanted a supermoto. I have read the repetitive topics concerning leaving your bike on prime but no answer as to why my bike is ok, everyone seems to have problems. 

One day I was in the trails and my bike tipped over and wouldn't start, so I set the pet cock to prime and it started fine and I rode/left it sitting like that for 3 weeks because I went to Florida. When I came back I shit myself when I noticed I left it on prime, the bike wouldn't start but was cranking. Eventually I killed the battery trying different choke settings and decided to try to push start it and it started right up. It wasn't idling high like the choke setting was set to but after riding it around for the day it was fine. I let it cool and it started fine.

Why does my bike seem ok after what is supposed to be a horrible mess up? Does anyone know the science behind why it wouldn't start at all choked but started fine when I pushed it? 

The carburetor has an automatic shut off valve (needle and seat). The needle is attached to the float. If everything is set correctly (float level) fuel cannot continue to enter once it reaches the desired operation level and everything is fine. The problem occurs when the needle and seat begin to leak, the float level is too high, or the o-ring in the seat body fails.

Choke is only used for cold weather. I suspect you flooded the engine using improper technique trying to start it. As a general rule, carburated 4 stroke bikes don't need any throttle to start if tuned correctly.

2 people like this

2 minutes ago, ohiodrz400sm said: