390 vs 300?

Any folks out there with experience on both the 390 and the 300? Just curious on a comparison between the two. I see lots of reviews on the 300, far fewer on the 390. I know they are apples and oranges, but they are my favorites at the moment.

I am 40, 5-10 180, in OK shape. I ride a 98 ktm300 right now and I'm a c rider. I want to do eastern PA single track and general riding, maybe some dual sport events. I want to ramp up my riding quantity and quality. I also like the xtrainer but feel the RRs may be a better do it all bike. If I get a new bike I will want to keep it a while.

Edited by bikesandcars

I have no experience with 390, but if you want to dual sport, it would be the best way to go.

I have no experience with 390, but if you want to dual sport, it would be the best way to go.

Thanks. I plan to run some dual sport events, and legalize the trail transitions. Not planning on commuting or normal dual sporting. The most road it will see is a fire road.

I have a 2014 400 (not a 390 but close) and a 300. Both are great bikes and you cannot go wrong with either. If somebody told me I could only have one bike for everything I ride I would keep my 400 and sell the 300. That being said, if all I rode was trails and tight single track, I would keep the 300. I also do find the need to have a plated dual sport here in California to open my riding possibilities. Both are excellent choices, you can't go wrong with either.

I have a 2014 400 (not a 390 but close) and a 300. Both are great bikes and you cannot go wrong with either. If somebody told me I could only have one bike for everything I ride I would keep my 400 and sell the 300. That being said, if all I rode was trails and tight single track, I would keep the 300. I also do find the need to have a plated dual sport here in California to open my riding possibilities. Both are excellent choices, you can't go wrong with either.