dirt bike rider78

Tips for a new mx rider

23 posts in this topic

Ok I'm new to the motocross world and does anyone have any tips that will be useful on the track

Take it easy.  You gotta crawl before you can walk.   That will save you an early trip to the orthopedic.  

7 people like this

Practice early on leaning the bike over to turn rather than turning the bars.

While cornering, keep your inside leg up and pointing forward, not dragging to the side / skimming the ground.

Aim for momentum / flow rather than braking and accelerating hard.

Have fun, you have nothing to prove to anyone.

In the event you fall, take a break to regain your breath before continuing.

2 people like this

Ok I'm new to the motocross world and does anyone have any tips that will be useful on the track

So much could be said in reply... I'm a beginner who just started a little over a year ago so the learning process is fresh in my mind.

The most important thing about riding track as a beginner on a track: Hold your line. Do not cut over. So for example it is not ok to go from one side to the other in front of a jump, across the top of a jump nor in the landing zone keeping in mind that others can jump really high and far - you don't want to be landed on. You don't want to be responsible for someone else crashing trying to avoid an unexpected movement you made.

Find the most basic of tracks, tabletops or singles only for jumping for now. In fact, the smallest (height wise/steepness of the ramp) tabletops. Many tracks will have a kids track; some will have an easier track. If a private track, ask the management if you can use it to practice even if rules restrict you from using it. Given that you are just starting they may let you ride it anyways.

My track splits between Vet/Beginner, Intermediate/Pro, Minis/Women. Even though there is a Beginner, Newbies they let ride with the Minis/Women slot = much safer. Ask which slot the track management wants you riding in.