HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LongLiveTwoStrokes222

06 YZ450F Hesitation and Coughing

9 posts in this topic

So I got a 2006 YZ450F and Im kinda new to the whole four stroke thing and I have done everything to try and get rid of this hesitation when the throttle is cracked open. And it also pops and stumbles when the throttle is held constant no matter the throttle position. I have tried different pilot jets with no change and I know its the right size because the fuel screw is out 3 turns. I moved the needle up and down two positions and it did nothing either. Cleaned the carb and set the float height to the correct height and still nothing. Ive tried the fuel screw in and out and neither helps. New spark plug and its jetted like perfectly according to the color. I also put in a new needle holder in and the slide plate and seal are good. Made sure the float needle wasnt stuck and that the floats didnt have stuff in them. I cant figure it out for the life of me Ive searched all over the forums for like 3 weeks every day and cant find anything. I did find one person that said that the reason these bikes are jetted so lean on the pilot is because the AP squirt is huge. I checked and it does work and the squirt is huge. So the guy said that if you try and make the decel popping go away with a richer pilot that it makes it crazy rich at the crack of the throttle but mine does it anywhere between 1/8th of a throttle to WOT when the throttle is held constant. If I just open her up it runs perfect. Oh and I forgot to mention that I tried unplugging the TPS as well and no change. This all started after o