removing coolant overflow

The WR has a coolant overflow tank because it is more likely to be in a situation where overheating might occur, slow riding or tight trail with little to no air coming through the radiators. The YZ is a race machine designed for the lightest weight possible, the situation for overheating on a motocross track is not likely. I have come to the conclusion that most remove overflow tank to make their bike look less like a WR and more like a YZ. I race desert and if I was a pro the weight would be a concern but I am in the amateur class and the overflow tank has been very useful a couple of times.

The only reason its there is becuase of the possibility for the WR to be street legalized. The DOT requires that any vehicle licensed for the street must provide a reservoir for the anti-freeze, since they dont want animals going around licking up little puddles of coolant overflow.

DD

:D?:D :D :D:usa: :usa: :usa:??:D :D :D :D :D :D ? ??

I took mine off a while back to shave some weight. I havent boiled my bike since the first ride out when I was hill climbing and still getting used to the bike. I've been turning it into an off-road/woods bike lately and realized that its a nice feature to have an overflow. Im putting it back on tonight. I agree with DesertChris, a lot of guys are buying after market overflow kits for their off road bikes. You should leave it on, you will be glad you did when you are days from the truck and boil your bike.

If you're doing it to try and save weight take a look around your mid section before you do anything. I just find it funny when people try to shave 12 oz of weight off there motorcycle when their carrying an extra 20 lbs (like me) around their waist. I mostly ride off ride with some track stuff thrown in to mix it up. The bike weighs what it weighs and and extra 5lbs one way or the other really is going to make that big a difference..

Just my .02