HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
knuckleduster271

Fuel injected cams in a carbureted bike?

6 posts in this topic

Ive been looking at performance cams for my wr450. I bought a stage one intake hot cam but I'm thinking about sending it back as I found a hotcam with a littler higher lift and longer duration that I'm interested in. Only problem is it's made for the fuel injected yfz450 atv's.

I don't really see how being fuel injected would really make a difference but I'm not an expert and there are some really knowledgeable folks on here that might be willing to share some insight..

Here are the specs on the cam

Hot Cam Builder Series Intake cam Part # 4239-INBLD: Intake Duration (Degrees at 1mm): 254.00 Intake Lift (mm): 9.65 Intake Lobe Center (Degrees): 106.00 Intake Valve Lash (mm): .10

Edited by knuckleduster271

They will not fit

Different motor

Hot Cams makes a YZ spec cam for the WR. It is a little peaky, but it defineitly gives you more power from mid on up.

You can also use the OEM YZ cam in the WR, but you have to grind down the decompression pin for the estart to work.

Tons of threads on the subjet.

There's no decomp pin on the intake cam.  Builder series, I don't think they work with stock valve springs.

They will not fit

Different motor

Hot Cams makes a YZ spec cam for the WR. It is a little peaky, but it defineitly gives you more power from mid on up.

You can also use the OEM YZ cam in the WR, but you have to grind down the decompression pin for the estart to work.

There's no decomp pin on the intake cam. Builder series, I don't think they work with stock valve springs.